Steven F. Hayward’s presidential report card

Photo of Jamie Weinstein
Jamie Weinstein
Senior Editor
  • See All Articles
  • Send Email
  • Subscribe to RSS
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Bio

      Jamie Weinstein

      Jamie Weinstein is Senior Editor of The Daily Caller. His work has appeared in The Weekly Standard, the New York Daily News and The Washington Examiner, among many other publications. He also worked as the Collegiate Network Journalism Fellow at Roll Call Newspaper and is the winner of the 2011 "Funniest Celebrity in Washington" contest. A regular on Fox News and other cable news outlets, Weinstein received a master’s degree in the history of international relations from the London School of Economics in 2009 and a bachelor's degree in history and government from Cornell University in 2006. He is the author of the political satire, "The Lizard King: The Shocking Inside Account of Obama's True Intergalactic Ambitions by an Anonymous White House Staffer."

In his new book ”The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Presidents: From Wilson to Obama,” Steven F. Hayward grades the presidents from Woodrow Wilson forward.

Hayward, the F.K. Weyerhaeuser Fellow in Law and Economics at the American Enterprise Institute, recently discussed his book and justified his rankings in an interview with The Daily Caller.

Below is what we could call the Hayward ranking of modern presidents, according to his gradings:

1.) Calvin Coolidge (1923–1929) — A+

2.) Ronald Reagan (1981–1989) — A-

3.) Warren G. Harding (1921–1923) — B+

3.) George W. Bush (2001–2009) — B+

5.) George H.W. Bush (1989–1993) — B

6.) Harry Truman (1945–1953) — C+

6.) Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953–1961) — C+

6.) Richard M. Nixon (1969–1974) — C+

6.) Gerald Ford (1974–1977) — C+

10.) Herbert Hoover (1929–1933) — C-

10.) John F. Kennedy (1961–1963) — C-

12.) Woodrow Wilson (1913–1921) — F

12.) Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933–1945) — F

12.) Lyndon B. Johnson (1963–1969) — F

12.) Jimmy Carter (1977–1981) — F

12.) Bill Clinton (1993–2001) — F

12.) Barack Obama (2009–present) — provisional F

Follow Jamie on Twitter