The Daily Caller

The Daily Caller

Atlantic Media announces finalists for Michael Kelly award

Writers from the Associated Press, the Colorado Springs Gazette, Reuters, and Rolling Stone have all been named finalists for the famed Michael Kelly award. The winner, who will receive $25,000, will be announced at a ceremony on April 13.

The award was created in honor of  Kelly, who was the editor of two Atlantic Media publications, The Atlantic and National Journal. He was killed while covering the Iraq War in 2003.

Chosen from nearly 60 entries, the finalists for the 2014 Michael Kelly Award are as follows:

Matthieu Aikins, for his story in Rolling Stone about allegations of war crimes committed by a U.S. Army Special Forces unit in Afghanistan.

Rukmini Callimachi, for her work as the West Africa bureau chief for the Associated Press, including her reports on internal al-Qaida documents she discovered.

Dave Philipps, for his coverage in the Colorado Springs Gazette of combat veterans receiving other-than-honorable discharges from the military.

Megan Twohey of Reuters, for a series on parents who give away their internationally-adopted children through an underground Internet clearinghouse.


The judges of the 2014 award:

Tish Durkin, freelance writer

Charles Green, contributing editor, National Journal

Brian Mockenhaupt, freelance writer and winner of the 2013 Michael Kelly Award

Cullen Murphy, editor-at-large, Vanity Fair

James Oliphant, White House correspondent, National Journal