Nesbitt, Groves, Morrison lead Canada speedskating

admin Contributor
Font Size:

CALGARY, Alberta (AP) — Top medal contenders Christine Nesbitt, Kristina Groves and Denny Morrison will lead the Canadian Olympic speedskating team at the Vancouver Games next month.

Olympic veterans Cindy Klassen, Clara Hughes and Jeremy Wotherspoon are also on the squad of eight men and eight women announced Monday at the Olympic Oval in Calgary.

Nesbitt is the defending World Champion in the 1,000 meters and has won all four of her World Cup races at the distance this season. Nesbitt and Groves also have two World Cup wins in the 1,500 so far, while Morrison has a combined three bronze medals in the 1,000 and 1,500.

Hughes is heading to her fifth Olympics, Wotherspoon to his fourth and Klassen to her third.