Failing to read the local rules sheet cost PGA Tour golfer Ryuji Imada a whopping 26 penalty strokes at a tournament in China on Saturday, GolfChannel.com reported.
Imada wasn’t the only golfer affected by a rules misunderstanding at the Mission Hills Star Trophy. Colin Montgomerie was penalized two shots after his caddie moved a sign on the 16th hole and finished two strokes behind tournament winner Lorena Ochoa.
Ochoa, the Mexican star who retired last year at the top of her game, shot a 71 in both rounds to earn the $1.28 million winner-take-all check at the 36-hole, mixed-field event.
Ochoa said the exhibition victory isn’t enough to make her consider coming out of retirement. She said she’s going to go back to Mexico “really happy.”
Imada’s 26-shot penalty came as a result of players being allowed to lift, clean and place their balls due to soft conditions on the Blackstone course.