DEA bans 5 synthetic marijuana chemicals

interns Contributor
Font Size:

Five chemicals used to make synthetic marijuana were banned today by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.

The chemicals JWH-018, JWH-073, JWH-200, CP-47,497 and cannabicyclohexanol can no longer be sold or possessed. The DEA exercised its emergency scheduling authority to do so.

The action was taken to prevent an imminent threat to public health and safety, according to a news release. The ban will remain in effect for at least a year while the DEA and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services study whether to permanently ban them.

The order was published today in the Federal Register. In November the DEA issued an alert saying it planned to ban the chemicals.

Full story: DEA bans 5 synthetic marijuana chemicals