Three Republicans Vote Against Boehner For Speaker In Voice Vote

Patrick Howley Political Reporter
Font Size:

WASHINGTON — Three members of the House Republican caucus voted against John Boehner’s re-election to the speakership in a party leadership voice vote Thursday.

Boehner was easily re-elected to head the party leadership team, though he will need to be formally voted in as Speaker in a floor vote in January. He faced early opposition Thursday from three members of his caucus: Florida Rep. Ted Yoho and two new Reps.-elect, Barry Loudermilk and Jody Hice, both of Georgia.

The existing Republican leadership team was re-elected with no exceptions: California Rep. Kevin McCarthy as Majority Leader, California Rep. Kevin McCarthy was re-elected Majority Leader, Louisiana Rep. Steve Scalise as Majority Whip, Washington Rep. Cathy McMorris-Rodgers as Conference Chairwoman, and Oregon Rep. Greg Walden as GOP campaign chairman.

Indiana Rep. Luke Messer was elected Republican Policy Committee chairman in a three-way race, fending off New York Rep. Tom Reed and Georgia Rep. Rob Woodall.

Republicans begin meeting next week to determine committee chairmanships.

Nine Republicans voted against Boehner in the floor vote after the 2012 elections, but Boehner is expected to face less opposition in January, despite previous speculation that Rep. Jeb Hensarling might stage a last-minute challenge.

Follow Patrick on Twitter