Biggio, Johnson, Martinez And Smoltz Elected To MLB Hall Of Fame

Christian Datoc Senior White House Correspondent
Font Size:

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America voted Tuesday to elect Craig Biggio, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and John Smoltz to the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame.

Biggio missed being voted in by only two votes in 2014, and all three pitchers were elected in their first year on the ballot.

Craig Biggio is the Astros’ all-time hits leader (3,060). Over his 20 seasons with Houston, Craig spent time behind the plate, at second base and in the outfield.

The flame-throwing Randy Johnson is known for being one of the most intimidating pitchers in MLB history. His career highlights include 4,875 strikeouts (second to only Nolan Ryan), 303 wins, a 2001 World Series championship and five Cy Young Awards.

Pedro Martinez played for five clubs across 18 seasons, but he is best known for the seven years he spent in Boston, where he compiled a 117-37 record. In particular, his 1999 season was truly amazing; Martinez won the AL pitching “triple crown” by clocking in at 23 wins, a 2.03 ERA and 313 strikeouts.

John Smoltz will join his former Braves teammates Greg Maddox and Tom Glavine in Cooperstown. Smoltz recorded 20 seasons with Atlanta, where he helped the club to 14 consecutive postseason appearances, five NL pennants and the 1995 World Series title. His 15 career postseason wins is second all-time to Andy Pettitte’s 19.

The four inductees will officially enter baseball’s elite fraternity on July 26, 2015 at the Clark Sports Center.