Ohio State Blows Out Oregon In 2015 College Football National Championship

Christian Datoc Audience Development Manager
Font Size:

The Ohio State Buckeyes have won the first annual College Football Playoff National Championship by a score of 42-20.

While Oregon jumped out to an early 1st quarter lead, Urban Meyer and company stormed back with three unanswered touchdowns. The Buckeyes entered half-time with a 21-10 lead.

The Ducks and Marcus Mariota wouldn’t go quietly in the second half. Oregon’s Heisman-winning quarterback threw for 333 yards and two touchdowns, but this wasn’t enough to overcome the Buckeyes’ offensive onslaught; freshman quarterback Cardale Jones threw for 242 yards and a touchdown, and sophomore running back Ezekiel Elliot ran for 246 yards and 4 touchdowns. Elliot would later be named the National Championship’s Offensive MVP.

The 2015 title is head coach Urban Meyer’s third national championship, and Ohio State’s first since Jim Tressel led the Buckeyes to a 2002 Fiesta Bowl victory.

Follow Datoc on Twitter