Paul Ryan Elected Speaker Of The House [VIDEO]

Steve Guest Media Reporter
Font Size:

Rep. [crscore]Paul Ryan[/crscore] of Wisconsin has been elected the new Speaker of the House for the 114th Congress.

Elected with 236 votes on Thursday, Ryan is the 54th Speaker of the House of Representatives. Rep. [crscore]Nancy Pelosi[/crscore] received 184 votes, Rep. [crscore]Daniel Webster[/crscore] of Florida received nine, Rep. [crscore]Jim Cooper[/crscore] of Tennessee received one, Rep. [crscore]John Lewis[/crscore] of Georgia received one, and Colin Powell received one vote.

Ryan, formerly chairman of the Ways and Means Committee and 2012 Republican vice presidential candidate, takes over after [crscore]John Boehner[/crscore] retired from the speakership.

Rep. [crscore]Cathy McMorris Rodgers[/crscore] of Washington and chair of the House Republican Conference nominated Ryan in a speech that received a standing ovation from both sides of the aisle.


McMorris Rodgers said, “In the House we are eager for a fresh start that will make us more effective to fulfill our obligation to reflect the will of the people and to re-establish the balance of power and there’s no better person to lead us in that calling than [Ryan].”

Ryan has been in the House for almost 17 years and led the House Budget Committee and later was the chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee.  

Rodgers said, “He’s more than a chairman to us. He’s more than a colleague. He’s our friend. He’s a leader and through it all, he’s never forgotten his roots.”

“There’s no place he’d rather be than at home with his family,” explained McMorris Rodgers. “He’ll continue to put the people of this country first and I can say, in all candor, he did not seek this office. The office sought him.”  

Democratic Rep. [crscore]Xavier Becerra[/crscore] of California, chairman of the House Democratic Conference nominated former Speaker Nancy Pelosi for the speakership. After Becerra’s speech, only the Democrats stood up and applauded.

Follow Steve on Twitter