Guns and Gear

Georgia And South Carolina Grant Residents Gun Permit Reciprocity

Campbell North Contributor
Font Size:

South Carolina is officially the 31st member on the list of states that recognize Georgia’s firearm licenses, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reported Wednesday morning.

Right-to-Carry permit holders of the two neighbor states can now cross the borderline without concerns over permit violations or legal blocks to carrying a firearm.

South Carolina was added to list on Tuesday by Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens. The inclusion of South Carolina is a form of reciprocity between the two states, as South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley recently added Georgia to the list of states whose Right-to-Carry permits will be accepted in South Carolina, this past Friday June 3.

The mutual legality of state permits was almost blocked when the South Carolina state legislature raised concerns over the bill granting concealed carry permit reciprocity. South Carolina senators raised concerns that Georgia permit holders were not required to undergo any training, a stipulation which South Carolina permit legislation mandates, and could be as young as 18. The bill still managed to pass with just moments to spare before the close of the legislative session.

In addition to South Carolina, Georgia also recognizes Right-to-Carry permits of residents from: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.