Entertainment

Facebook Falsely Notifies Users That Their Friends Are Dead — When THEY’RE NOT

Kaitlan Collins White House Correspondent

Facebook is falsely notifying users that their friends, who are very much alive, are dead.

(Photo: Facebook screen grab)

(Photo: Facebook screen grab)

On Friday, users — including this author — were startled when they logged in and were notified by a banner at the top of their profiles titled “Remembering Kaitlan Collins.”

“We hope people who love Kaitlan will find comfort in the things other share to remember and celebrate her life.”

(Photo: Facebook screen grab)

(Photo: Facebook screen grab)

(Photo: Facebook screen grab)

(Photo: Facebook screen grab)

The banner was followed by a link where users could “learn more about memorialized accounts” and rights to “legacy content” on Facebook.

“After someone has passed away, we’ll memorialize their account if a family member or friend submits a request,” Facebook notes. “Keep in mind that memorialization is a big decision. If you’re not a family member or close friend of the person who passed away, we recommend reaching out to the person’s family before requesting memorialization.”

(Photo: Shutterstock)

(Photo: Shutterstock)

Facebook did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

This is a developing story