Paul Ryan Officially Wins Second Term As Speaker

REUTERS/Ben Brewer

Daily Caller News Foundation logo
Juliegrace Brufke Capitol Hill Reporter
Font Size:

Speaker of the House Paul Ryan was officially reelected to his leadership post by an overwhelming margin Tuesday.

Two-hundred and thirty-nine Republicans voted for him, 189 Democrats voted for Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi and four members decided to vote for other members.

Kentucky Rep. Thomas Massie was the sole Republican to vote against Ryan, casting his vote for Florida Republican Rep. Daniel Webster instead, saying he was doing so to “drain the swamp.”

Democratic Rep. Ron Kind of Wisconsin opted to vote against Pelosi, instead voting for Tennessee Rep. Jim Cooper, a member of the Blue Dog Coalition. Cooper cast his vote for Ohio Rep. Tim Ryan, who challenged Pelosi in the race for her position in November. Arizona Rep. Kyrsten Sinema also bucked Pelosi, as she did during the 114th Congress, casting her vote for Georgia Rep. John Lewis.

A number of Democrats prefaced their votes with: “Because the people’s House should be ethical, accountable and open to free debate,” before casting their votes for Pelosi. The phrase was met with groans from a number Republicans, some of which praised Ryan ahead of casting their vote.

During Democratic leadership elections, a number of members raised concerns over Pelosi’s age. Democratic Rep. Steve Cohen of Tennessee made light of the accusation, saying: “I vote for the youngest female ever elected Speaker of the House of Representatives.”

GOP Ohio Rep. Warren Davidson took a swing at Pelosi, saying he was voting for Ryan “because we should read the bills before we pass the bills.”

Follow Juliegrace Brufke on Twitter

Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact licensing@dailycallernewsfoundation.org.