Only Three Democrats Voted For The 20-Week Abortion Ban

Youtube screenshot/DukeSanfordSchool

Daily Caller News Foundation logo
Grace Carr Reporter
Font Size:

Only three Democrats joined Republicans to vote for the Pain-Capable Unborn Protection Act Tuesday evening, a bill that will now be sent to the Senate.

The bill states that no unborn baby past 20 weeks gestation can be aborted, except in cases of rape, incest, or to save the life of the mother. Abortion providers that violate the law will be penalized and could be sentenced to five years in prison.

Illinois Rep. Daniel Lipinski, from the 3rd Congressional District of Illinois and cosponsor of the bill, voted yes on passage of the 20-week abortion ban. Texas Rep. Henry Cuellar and Minnesota Rep. Collin Peterson also joined Lipinski in favor of the bill.

Before the vote, representatives engaged in heated debate over the bill. Allowing unborn babies to be aborted after 20 weeks “violates our most enduring values,” Illinois Rep. Randy Hultgren said on the House floor. “Unborn babies are not just a blob of tissue,” Alabama Rep. Robert Aderholt added.

Rep. Gwen Moore of Wisconsin disagreed with the bill, calling it “unconstitutional” and a “cruel and ruthless attempt to undermine women.”

The bill had will now head to the Senate, where it must get 60 votes to become law.

Follow Grace on Twitter.

All content created by the Daily Caller News Foundation, an independent and nonpartisan newswire service, is available without charge to any legitimate news publisher that can provide a large audience. All republished articles must include our logo, our reporter’s byline and their DCNF affiliation. For any questions about our guidelines or partnering with us, please contact licensing@dailycallernewsfoundation.org.