Entertainment

Elton John Announces Retirement From Touring After 50 Years

(Photo credit: ROLAND SCHLAGER/AFP/Getty Images)

Katie Jerkovich Entertainment Reporter

Elton John announced Wednesday that he’s retiring from touring after one final world tour, according to CBS News.

The 70-year-old singer announced at a press conference that he will end his days on the road after a three-year long “Yellow Brick Road” tour, which will end in 2021 with 300 dates.

“It’ll be a global tour,” John shared. “It is the last time that I’ll be touring and traveling the world because my priorities have changed … I have children and that changed our lives.”

The retirement however does not mean he’s retiring and he said he will still be writing and recording music.

On Tuesday and Wednesday the singer teased the announcement on his website and on Twitter that he had “finally decided his future lies…..” and nothing further. (RELATED: Elton John Calls Trump A ‘Barbarian’ While Raising Big Bucks For Hillary)

“You’ll finally see where the future lies… Watch the #EltonEvent special announcement live tomorrow – 9.30 PT / 12.30 ET / 17.30 GMT on http://www.eltonjohn.com,” John tweeted.

The “Rocket Man” singer’s final tour will start in September after his Las Vegas residency ends in May, where he has headlined an ongoing show for six years.

Last year, the five-time Grammy winner had to be hospitalized after contracting a rare bacterial infection while on tour in South America. He spent two nights in intensive care and almost two weeks in the hospital due to the infection. A handful of his shows in California and Las Vegas also had to be cancelled.