France, UK, And Germany Emphasize Commitment To Iran Deal In Joint Statement

Dan Kitwood/Getty Images

Julia Nista General Assignment Reporter
Font Size:

UK Prime Minister Theresa May, French Prime Minister Emmanuel Macron and German Chancellor Angela Merkel released a joint statement Tuesday criticizing the United States’ withdrawal from the Iran deal.

“It is with regret and concern that we, the Leaders of France, Germany and the United Kingdom take note of President Trump’s decision to withdraw the United States of America from the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action,” the foreign leaders stated.

“Together, we emphasise our continuing commitment to the JCPoA,” the statement continues.

The three European leaders state their respective countries “remain committed to ensuring the agreement is upheld” and that they will ensure “the continuing economic benefits to the Iranian people that are linked to the agreement.”

The joint statement emphasizes the UK, France, and Germany’s pressure on Iran to have a nuclear program that remains “peaceful and civilian.” (RELATED: Macron: France, UK, and Germany ‘Regret U.S. Decision’ To Leave Iran Nuclear Deal)

President Trump announced the Unites States would withdraw from the JCPOA Tuesday, stating “the Iran Deal is defective at it’s core” and “the United States no longer makes empty threats.”

Follow Julia Nista on Twitter

Send tips to: