Entertainment

Celebrities Take To Social Media To Remind People To Vote: ‘It’s Not Enough To Just Want Change’

(Photo by Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images For dcp)

Katie Jerkovich Entertainment Reporter

Taylor Swift, Amy Schumer and Madonna are among several stars who took to social media Tuesday encouraging their supporters to get out and vote in the midterms.

“I’m seeing a lot of underestimation of young voters in this new generation who now have the right to vote just in the last couple of years,” the 28-year-old singer explained in a clip she posted on her Instagram story. “But these are people who grew up post 9/11.” (RELATED: TRAINWRECK–Tampa Crowd Eats Amy Schumer Alive For Going After Trump [VIDEO])

Taylor Swift performs onstage during opening night of her 2018 Reputation Stadium Tour at University of Phoenix Stadium on May 8, 2018 in Glendale, Arizona. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for TAS)

Taylor Swift performs onstage during opening night of her 2018 Reputation Stadium Tour at University of Phoenix Stadium on May 8, 2018 in Glendale, Arizona. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for TAS)

“They grew up with school shooting drills at their schools,” she added. “These are people who want to vote. It’s not enough to just want change. It’s not enough to just want to vote. You have to go and make change by voting.”

Swift continued, “Today is your opportunity to go do that. I promise you it feels so wonderful to exercise that right you have.”

“Thank you 14th & 19th Amendment for letting me vote today! Comment or tag yourself if you feel the same,” actress Mindy Kaling captioned her post on Instagram.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on

Most of them just posted selfies with their “I Voted” stickers. However, some used the opportunity to explain in their posts why they voted. (RELATED: Donald Trump: Madonna Is ‘Disgusting–Disgraceful To Our Country’)

Madonna shared a snap of herself, tweeting that even though she was out of the country, she just voted.

“Just Do It! ! I Just Did From Across the Ocean!! People Do your part!! We Got This!! #vote,” the 60-year-old pop singer wrote to her millions of followers.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Lea Michele (@leamichele) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mandy Moore (@mandymooremm) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by @amyschumer on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jeff Goldblum (@jeffgoldblum) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jennifer Garner (@jennifer.garner) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Tom Hanks (@tomhanks) on