Senate Unanimously Approves Bill To Combat Sexual Harassment On Capitol Hill

Photo by Al Drago/Getty Images

Daily Caller News Foundation logo
Henry Rodgers Chief National Correspondent
Font Size:

The U.S. Senate approved bipartisan legislation that would combat sexual harassment in Congress Thursday in an unanimous vote.

The bill, which was put forward by Missouri Republican Sen. Roy Blunt and Minnesota Democratic Sen. Amy Klobuchar, will make it so any members of Congress who are accused of sexual misconduct will be responsible for their legal fees instead of taxpayers.

“This is a bill that fundamentally changes the way sexual harassment cases are handled in the Senate and in the House,” Klobuchar said Thursday, after the bill passed. “The process we have will now protect victims of harassment instead of protecting politicians.”

U.S. Senate Minority Leader Sen. Chuck Schumer speaks to members of the media as Sen. Debbie Stabenow, Sen. Bernie Sanders, Senate Minority Whip Sen. Richard Durbin, Sen. Elizabeth Warren, and Sen. Amy Klobuchar look on. (Photo by Alex Wong/Getty Images)

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell tweeted out his support of the bill after it was passed, thanking Blunt and Klobuchar, saying the legislation “strengthens protections for victims. It ensures that it is members of Congress who will be held responsible for their own misconduct.” (RELATED: Democrats See No Comparison Of Congressional Sexual Harassment Settlements To Trump Payoffs To Women)

The bill is expected to pass the House before the end of 2018 and will then be signed by President Donald Trump.

Follow Henry Rodgers On Twitter

All content created by the Daily Caller News Foundation, an independent and nonpartisan newswire service, is available without charge to any legitimate news publisher that can provide a large audience. All republished articles must include our logo, our reporter’s byline and their DCNF affiliation. For any questions about our guidelines or partnering with us, please contact licensing@dailycallernewsfoundation.org.