AP Coach Of The Year Announced. SEC Fans Will Not Be Happy

(Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Font Size:

The Associated Press named its coach of the year on Monday, and it is likely to ruffle some feathers.

Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly was named the AP coach of the year after leading the Fighting Irish to a 12-0 regular season and a trip to the college football playoff. (RELATED: Vanderbilt Football Coach Probably Regrets These Comments After Losing To Notre Dame)  

Kelly narrowly defeated Alabama head coach Nick Saban for the honor. Both Kelly and Saban received 16 first-place votes, but Kelly received more second- and third-place votes than Saban, thus taking home the honors.

UCF coach Josh Heupel finished in third place, and received five first-place votes after leading the Knights to their second straight undefeated season.

Despite being widely regarded as the greatest coach in college football history, Saban has not won the AP coach of the year award since 2008. He has, however, won five national championships since then, and should win another one this year barring injuries.

Follow William Davis on Twitter