All 50 States Now Under Disaster Declarations After Trump Adds Wyoming

Photo by MANDEL NGAN/AFP via Getty Images

Anders Hagstrom White House Correspondent
Font Size:

President Donald Trump approved a disaster declaration for Wyoming Saturday, making it the 50th and final state to receive classification.

Federal disaster declarations allow states the receive increased support from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The 50 states are also joined by U.S. territories and the District of Columbia. (RELATED: Big Banks Received Billions In 2008 Bailouts, Now They’re Slow To Help Small Businesses)

“Federal funding is available to State, tribal, and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance, for all areas in the State of Wyoming impacted by COVID-19,” the White House said in a statement to reporters.

The news comes as Republican Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan and Democratic New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo issued a joint statement requesting a $500 billion bailout from Congress to cover coronavirus costs. (RELATED: Victims Of Communism Memorial Foundation Adds Global Coronavirus Deaths To Its Tally Of Historical Victims Of Communism)

Many states have struggled to pay for the increased financial demands of supporting stressed healthcare systems and a surge in unemployed workers.