Rice, North Texas, FAU, Charlotte and UAB Are All Joining The AAC

Mandatory Credit: Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports via Reuters

David Hookstead Sports And Entertainment Editor
Font Size:

The college football landscape continues to shift.

According to Pete Thamel, the AAC has accepted Rice, North Texas, FAU, Charlotte and UAB into the conference. (RELATED: David Hookstead Is The True King In The North When It Comes To College Football)

Cincinnati, Houston and UCF recently opted to leave the conference to join a depleted Big 12.

Ever since Oklahoma and Texas decided to jump ship from the Big 12 to the SEC, the state of college football has been in complete chaos when it comes to conference realignment.

Teams are moving, conferences are changing and the big dogs are feasting on the smaller conferences.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by FAU Football (@faufootball)

The AAC got pillaged so that the Big 12 could survive, and now the AAC has done the same to Conference USA.

Things are changing in a way that nobody saw coming a year ago. I’m not sure anyone would have believed you if you had laid this all out. Yet, here we are!


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by North Texas Football (@meangreenfb)

We’ll see who decides to move around next, but I’m sure we’re not done just yet. Welcome to the world of college football where things can change very quickly!