Speaker Vote Heads To Second Ballot For First Time In 100 Years

(Photo by Drew Angerer/Getty Images)

Michael Ginsberg Congressional Correspondent
Font Size:

The House of Representatives will hold a second ballot for the Speakership for the first time since 1923, as Republican leader Kevin McCarthy of California failed to garner the support of the lower chamber’s majority.

Ten Republicans voted for Arizona Rep. Andy Biggs on the first ballot and nine voted for non-nominated candidates, dealing McCarthy a potentially insurmountable margin as he attempts to ascend to the gavel. The Californian needs 218 votes to be named Speaker, meaning he must flip 15 members on subsequent ballots. McCarthy previously garnered 188 votes in a November conference meeting.

House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries received all 212 Democratic votes.

WASHINGTON, DC – JANUARY 03: (L-R) U.S. Rep. Bob Good (R-VA), Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ) and Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) talks as they wait for the start of the 118th Congress in the House Chamber of the U.S. Capitol Building on January 03, 2023 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Win McNamee/Getty Images)

McCarthy’s opponents have teased a consensus candidate, who they will vote for on the second ballot. Several outlets reported Tuesday that incoming House Majority Leader Steve Scalise of Louisiana could be that candidate. Scalise has vocally supported McCarthy’s Speaker bid. (RELATED: EXCLUSIVE: With Speaker Vote One Day Away, McCarthy Struggles To Corral Holdouts)

“We had a reason to remove [former Speaker John] Boehner. He was mistreating conservatives. Kevin McCarthy’s not mistreating conservatives, so I’m not sure what the issue is,” Freedom Caucus founding member and former Office of Management and Budget Director Mick Mulvaney told the Daily Caller. “I have no other conclusion to draw but that it is personal.”

McCarthy has pledged to stand for as many votes as it takes for him to ascend to the gavel. The last time the Speaker vote went more than one ballot, Republican Massachusetts Rep. Frederick Gillett won the gavel after three days and nine votes.

This is a breaking news story and will be updated as more information becomes available.