A Who’s Who Of Bush Administration Officials Advise Rubio On National Security

REUTERS/Alvin Baez

Alex Pfeiffer White House Correspondent
Font Size:

Sen.[crscore]Marco Rubio[/crscore] released a list of his “National Security Council” Monday, revealing a roster of former Bush administration officials.

Every member of the council was either a member of the Bush Administration or voted in favor of the Iraq war, with the exception of one adviser and senator.

Members of the council include figures such as Eliot Cohen, co-founder of the Project for the New American Century, who described the war in the Middle East as “World War IV,” and advocated strongly for regime change in Iran and Iraq. The list also includes multiple former foreign policy advisers to Mitt Romney.

See the full list below.

Elliot Abrams, former deputy National Security Advisor for global democracy strategy

Gen. Keith Alexander, former director of the NSA

Michael Chertoff, former director of Homeland Security

Eliot Cohen, former counselor of the State Department and member of the Committee for the Liberation of Iraq

Former Sen. Norm Coleman, voted for the invasion of Iraq

Amb. Paula Dobriansky, former under secretary of state for democracy and global affairs

Eric Edelman, former under secretary of defense for policy

Aaron Friedberg, former deputy assistant for national security affairs in the office of the vice president

Kim Holmes, former assistant secretary of state

Amb. Robert Joseph, former undersecretary for arms control and international security, U.S Department of State

Sen. Jon Kyl, voted for the invasion

John Lehman, former advisor to John McCain and Mitt Romney during their respective bids for the presidency, only member on the list who is not a Senator or was in the Bush administration.

Michael Mukasey, former U.S Attorney General

Andrew Natsios, former administrator of the United States Agency for International Development

Dan Senor, former chief spokesman for the Iraqi Coalition Provisional Authority

Amb. Kristen Silverberg, former ambassador to the European Union

Former Sen. Jim Talent, wasn’t in Congress during vote for invasion of Iraq

Don Zakleim, former DoD comptroller