Here Are The GOP Reps Who Voted Against Tax Reform

(Mike Raust/The Daily Caller)

Daily Caller News Foundation logo
Jack Crowe Political Reporter
Font Size:

House Republicans managed to pass the first comprehensive tax reform bill in over three decades Thursday without the support of 13 GOP defectors.

The bill, which passed 227-205, eliminates the state and local tax deduction, a measure designed to compensate residents of high tax states by reducing their federal tax bill. This revenue saving measure sparked opposition from Republican delegations from New Jersey, New York and California, who believe the bill will result in a higher net tax for their constituents.

Here are the 13 GOP members who voted “no” on the bill:

  • Rep. Tom McClintock of California
  • Rep. Dana Rohrabacher of California
  • Rep. Darrell Issa of California
  • Rep. Frank LoBiondo of New Jersey
  • Rep. Chris Smith of New Jersey
  • Rep. Leonard Lance of New Jersey
  • Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen of New Jersey
  • Rep. Lee Zeldin of New York
  • Rep. Pete King of New York
  • Rep. Daniel Donovan of New York
  • Rep. John Faso of New York
  • Rep. Elise Stefanik of New York
  • Rep. Walter Jones of North Carolina

GOP leadership still faces the daunting task of reconciling the House bill with the Senate version now making its way through the Finance Committee. The drafts diverge on a number of key issues and Senate Republicans can only afford two defectors if they hope to pass the bill along party lines under budget resolution rules.

RELATED: Protesters Crash Pence Event Angered by New Tax Reform Bill


Follow Jack on Twitter

All content created by the Daily Caller News Foundation, an independent and nonpartisan newswire service, is available without charge to any legitimate news publisher that can provide a large audience. All republished articles must include our logo, our reporter’s byline and their DCNF affiliation. For any questions about our guidelines or partnering with us, please contact licensing@dailycallernewsfoundation.org.