EXCLUSIVE: ‘Rotten To The Core’ — Matt Gaetz, House Republicans To Introduce Legislation Rejecting New FBI Headquarters

Photo by Win McNamee/Getty Images

Henry Rodgers Chief National Correspondent
Font Size:

Florida Rep. Matt Gaetz and five other Republicans will introduce legislation Tuesday that calls for the House to halt all spending allocated towards the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s (FBI) new headquarters outside the District of Columbia.

The Daily Caller first obtained the legislation, which is titled “The FBI Washington Field Office House Arrest Act.” In December 2022’s Omnibus package, when Nancy Pelosi was Speaker of the House, Congress voted to allocate $375 Million for a new FBI headquarters. Gaetz and the GOP lawmakers do not believe it should be built.

There are reportedly three options for where the new FBI headquarters would be built: two in Maryland, and one in Virginia.

“There are still good men and women in the FBI whose task and purpose is to defend our country, but the FBI’s weaponized Washington Field Office is rotten to the core. Through our investigations in the Weaponization Subcommittee, we have uncovered extremely disturbing testimony from FBI whistleblowers that the Washington Field Office is targeting Americans who oppose their corrupt political agenda,” Gaetz told the Caller before introducing the legislation. (RELATED: EXCLUSIVE: Matt Gaetz To Introduce ‘PENCIL Act,’ Blocking Adam Schiff From Reviewing Classified Information)


(DAILY CALLER OBTAINED) — … by Henry Rodgers

“The cancer at the Washington Field Office has metastasized so large that the entire body is in critical condition. Gifting the FBI a new headquarters larger than the Pentagon would condone, reinforce, and enable their nefarious behavior to levels we have never seen before,” Gaetz added. (RELATED: Matt Gaetz Calls To Abolish The ATF After Agency Issues Rule Allegedly Making It Harder For Certain People To Buy Guns)

The legislation will be co-sponsored by Arizona Rep. Andy Biggs, North Carolina Rep. Dan Bishop, Arizona Rep. Paul Gosar, Georgia Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene and Wyoming Rep. Harriet Hageman.