Gun Laws & Legislation

Massachusetts: House Speaker Introduces Sweeping Gun Control Legislation

NRA ILA Contributor
Font Size:

This week, Massachusetts House Speaker Robert DeLeo (D-Winthrop) unveiled an extensive gun control bill, House Bill 4121, which would further impact law-abiding gun owners in the Commonwealth.  Being promoted as legislation aimed to be outgoing Governor Deval Patrick’s (D) crowning achievement, this egregious bill would give police chiefs discretion in licensing owners for shotguns and rifles, ban the private sale of firearms without a licensed gun dealer and require gun owners to provide a list of all firearms they currently own to the state with each renewal of their license, among many other things.  Additionally, it would grant authority to the state Attorney General to remove certain firearms from the approved “firearms roster.”

As anyone who has gone through the process to legally obtain a firearm in Massachusetts knows, there is no dearth of existing laws that regulate the sale, purchase and transfer of firearms.  The question should be what gun control laws should be repealed, NOT enacted.  Your NRA will continue to stand opposed to any gun laws that have no effect on criminals, do not reduce violent crime and only restrict, harass and impose unnecessary costs and burdens on law-abiding citizens.  This is certainly not an unreasonable position, but that seems to be beyond the misguided anti-gun legislators who embrace this proposal.

The first hearing on HB 4121 will take place this Tuesday, June 3, before the Joint Committee on Public Safety and Homeland Security at 12:00 noon in the Gardner Auditorium of the state Capitol.  Please attend and participate at this important hearing.  If you cannot attend, it is CRITICAL that you contact members of this committee, using the contact information provided below, and urge them to OPPOSE this outrageous anti-gun bill.  Tell them to vote NO on HB 4121.

Joint Committee on Public Safety and Homeland Security:

Senator James Timilty, Senate Chairman (D-Walpole)
617 722-1222

Senator Michael Moore, Senate Vice Chairman (D-Millbury)

Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston)

Senator Richard Ross (R-Wrentham)

Senator James Welch (D-West Springfield)

Representative Harold Naughton, House Chairman (D-Clinton)

Representative Michael Brady, House Vice Chairman (D-Brockton)

Representative Sean Curran (D-Springfield)

Representative Linda Campbell (D-Methuen)

Representative James Dwyer (D-Woburn)

Representative Alan Silvia (D-Fall River)

Representative David Vieira (R-East Falmouth)

Representative Cleon Turner (D-Dennis)

Representative Brian Ashe (D-Longmeadow)

Representative Brian Mannal (D-Barnstable)

Representative Nicholas Boldyga (R-Southwick)