House Freedom Caucus Re-Elects Jim Jordan As Chairman

REUTERS/James Lawler Duggan

Daily Caller News Foundation logo
Juliegrace Brufke Capitol Hill Reporter
Font Size:

The House Freedom Caucus voted Monday to re-elect Ohio Republican [crscore]Jim Jordan[/crscore] as its chairman.

The 36-member conservative group, which played a role in former House Speaker [crscore]John Boehner[/crscore]’s resignation, was founded just 10 months ago.

“Tonight we reaffirmed our strong support for Rep. Jordan’s leadership by electing him to another term as Chairman and a Board Member of the House Freedom Caucus. We also applaud the elections of Reps. Pearce and Duncan to serve as Board Members,” the group said in a statement. “We are confident they will lead us in giving a voice to countless Americans who feel that Washington does not represent them, by supporting open, accountable and limited government, the Constitution and the rule of law, and policies that promote the liberty, safety and prosperity of all Americans.”

Jordan was the only member to seek a second term out of the three seats up for re-election.

South Carolina Rep. Jim Duncan and Texas Rep. [crscore]Steve Pearce[/crscore] were also voted on to the board.

“Under Jim’s leadership the House Freedom Caucus has had a profound impact on changing the debate in Washington,” said Virginia Republican [crscore]Dave Brat[/crscore], known for ousting former Majority Leader Eric Cantor. “In our inaugural year, the Caucus has proven that we are giving a voice to countless Americans who feel that Washington does not represent them.”

The group is known for taking a hard-line stance on conservative issues. The caucus’ approval played a key role in electing Boehner’s replacement, Wisconsin Republican [crscore]Paul Ryan[/crscore].

Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact licensing@dailycallernewsfoundation.org.