Here Are The Six Republicans Who Voted ‘Present’ For Adam Schiff’s Censure

(Photo by Jerod Harris/Getty Images for Demand Justice)

Henry Rodgers Chief National Correspondent
Font Size:

Six Republicans voted “present” instead of voting for the censure of Democratic California Rep. Adam Schiff.

Republican Florida Rep. Anna Paulina Luna introduced the resolution that would remove Schiff from the U.S. House of Representatives.

The Daily Caller first obtained a copy of the first resolution, which cites the Durham Report as the reason the congresswoman believes Schiff should no longer serve in Congress. (RELATED: EXCLUSIVE: Rep. Anna Paulina Luna Introduces Resolution To Remove Adam Schiff From The House)

Here are the six Republicans: 

  • Rep. David Joyce (R-OH)
  • Rep. Michael Guest (R-MS)
  • Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY)
  • Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO)
  • Rep. John Rutherford (R-FL)
  • Rep. Michelle Fischbach (R-MN)

“Adam Schiff lied to the American people. He used his position on House Intelligence to push a lie that cost American taxpayers millions of dollars and abused the trust placed in him as Chairman. He is a dishonor to the House of Representatives,” Paulina Luna said in a statement.

“The Durham Report makes clear that the Russian Collusion was a lie from day one and Schiff knowingly used his position in an attempt to divide our country,” she added. (RELATED: EXCLUSIVE: Matt Gaetz To Introduce ‘PENCIL Act,’ Blocking Adam Schiff From Reviewing Classified Information)

Members who sit on the Ethics Committee usually vote “present” in order to not weigh in on investigations before they are brought to them. Five of the Republican members who voted “present” are of the House Ethics Committee. Buck does not serve on the committee.

“To say that Republican Members of the House Ethics committee broke with our party on this vote would be inaccurate. Rather, we preserved the integrity of the investigation into Congressman Schiff. House Ethics Committee rules and fundamental due process considerations require that Ethics Committee Members make impartial and unbiased decisions. If we would have voted for the Resolution, it could have triggered a process for Congressman Schiff to request we recuse ourselves, effectively shutting down the investigation,” Garbarino said in a statement.

As Speaker of the House, Kevin McCarthy blocked Adam Schiff from sitting on the House Intelligence Committee. Republican Florida Rep. Matt Gaetz also introduced legislation that would call on the House to vote on if Schiff should be banned from accessing and viewing any and all classified information.