Roy Halladay unanimous NL Cy Young winner

Font Size:

PHILADELPHIA — Expectations seemed impossibly high for Roy Halladay in 2010.

Imagine what they might be in 2011.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America named Halladay the National League Cy Young Award winner on Tuesday, making him the fifth pitcher to win a Cy Young in each league. Halladay, who won the 2003 American League Cy Young Award while pitching for the Blue Jays, joined Gaylord Perry, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Roger Clemens as a dual-league winner.

He was a unanimous choice of the voters, receiving all 32 first-place votes for 224 points. Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals received 28 second-place votes to finish with 122 points. The Rockies’ Ubaldo Jimenez was third with 90 points, which included four second-place votes. Atlanta’s Tim Hudson was fourth, Florida’s Josh Johnson was fifth and Philadelphia’s Roy Oswalt was sixth.

Full story: Halladay unanimous NL Cy Young winner | News