Senator Jon Kyl to step down next year

Will Rahn Senior Editor

Arizona Republican Sen. Jon Kyl will not run for re-election in 2012, reports The Washington Post.

He is the fifth senator to announce his retirement next year. Independent Connecticut Sen. Joe Lieberman, Texas Republican Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchinson, Democratic North Dakota Sen. Kent Conrad and Virginia Democratic Sen. Jim Webb have all said they will not seek re-election.

Kyl is the Senate Minority Whip and a key member of the GOP leadership. He was originally elected to the Senate during the “Republican Revolution” of 1994.