Indiana GOP Rep Joins Long List Of Republican Lawmakers Leaving Congress

(Screenshot / Youtube / Forbes Breaking News)

Daily Caller News Foundation logo
Jake Smith Contributor
Font Size:

Republican Indiana Rep. Larry Bucshon announced Monday that he will be retiring from Congress, one of many Republican lawmakers planning to leave Congress in 2024.

Bucshon, a 14-year congressman, decided over the holiday season that he will not seek reelection to his seat in the 2024 congressional elections, according to a statement posted by the legislator on Monday. Bucshon is one among many Republican lawmakers who have either resigned from their roles early or have decided not to seek reelection to their seats in 2024. (RELATED: House GOP’s Majority To Shrink Further After Member Announces Resignation)

“It became clear to me over the Christmas holiday with much discernment and prayer that the time has come to bring my season in public service to a conclusion,” Bucshon said in a statement Monday. “Therefore, I will not seek reelection to an eighth term and conclude my service in the House of Representatives at the end of the 118 Congress.”

Buschon recalled his 14 years of service in Congress and issued statements of thanks to those who supported his political career. Bucshon also said that “recent disputes in Congress and difficulties advancing policy on behalf of the American people” had not undermined his confidence in democracy.

Bucshon is one of several Republican lawmakers in both the House and Senate to announce his retirement from Congress going into 2024. Colorado Rep. Doug Lamborn announced his retirement from Congress on Friday, one day after Missouri Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer announced his retirement. Ohio Rep. Bill Johnson announced Tuesday that he would be resigning from his role early on Jan. 21, having accepted another job offer. Former Speaker of the House Kevin McCarthy resigned early from his congressional seat at the end of 2023.

Several Democratic lawmakers are also retiring from Congress in 2024, including Michigan Rep. Dan Kildee, Virginia Rep. Jennifer Wexton, Maryland Sen. Ben Cardin and West Virginia Sen. Joe Manchin, according to the House Press Gallery.

Republicans currently maintain only a two-seat majority in the House following McCarthy’s resignation and former New York Rep. George Santos’ expulsion from Congress. That majority will drop to one seat after Johnson resigns and House Majority Leader Steve Scalise undergoes cancer treatment, which will keep him out of Congress temporarily.

The NRCC did not immediately respond to the Daily Caller News Foundation’s request for comment.

All content created by the Daily Caller News Foundation, an independent and nonpartisan newswire service, is available without charge to any legitimate news publisher that can provide a large audience. All republished articles must include our logo, our reporter’s byline and their DCNF affiliation. For any questions about our guidelines or partnering with us, please contact licensing@dailycallernewsfoundation.org.