UConn wins national title for fourth time in school’s history

Sarah Hofmann Contributor
Font Size:

The University of Connecticut beat Kentucky 60-54 in Monday night’s national championship. This makes UConn the only school to get four national titles in the past 16 seasons.

The seventh-seed Huskies stayed ahead of the eighth Wildcats throughout the entire game, with UConn senior guard Shabazz Napier scoring 22 points. UConn was 10 for 10 from the line, while Kentucky only made 13 of their 24 free-throw attempts.

Wildcat freshman guard James Young racked up an impressive 20 points, while freshman standout Julius Randle put up 10. In addition to Napier’s points, Huskie junior guard Ryan Boatwright scored 14.

This is a big victory for UConn after it was kicked out of the Big East last year and was ineligible for the tournament due to academic violations, reports ESPN. Their coach Jim Calhoun had to leave due to health reasons and five key players left to the NBA or other schools.

Follow Sarah on Twitter