Rep. Patrick McHenry Tapped As Chief Deputy Majority Whip

Ariel Cohen Contributor
Font Size:

House Majority Whip Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA) tapped Rep. Patrick McHenry (R NC) to be the Chief Deputy Majority Whip of the House GOP Conference on Thursday.

“It is an honor to name my colleague Congressman Patrick McHenry as Chief Deputy Whip,” Scalise said in a statement.  “I look forward to working with him on behalf of the Republican Conference to advance the conservative values and principles that unite us and move America forward.”

Scalise stated that he picked McHenry for the highest appointed position in the GOP based on his previous role as deputy Republican whip, under Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA). Scalise also stated that McHenry has “helped lead the charge in holding Americans accountable” and has the ability to help “bring the conference together to grow the vote.”

McHenry also serves as Chairman of the House Financial Services Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee. The North Carolinian first ran for Congress in 2004, and has served in the legislature, representing his state’s 10th district, ever since. A respected Southern legislator, McHenry is known for his love of seersucker suits and bow-ties almost as much as he is for his experience in conservative politics.

In his new role, McHenry will wok with Scalise to manage the Republican Party’s program on the House floor, keep track of legislation and ensure that party members are present at votes.

“I am humbled and honored that Steve has asked me to serve as his Chief Deputy Whip.  Steve is a strong conservative leader for our Conference and I am excited for the opportunity to be a part of his team,” McHenry said in a statement. ” I look forward to working with him, our five Senior Deputy Whips, and the rest of the whip team to support a conservative, pro-growth agenda that will improve our economy, create jobs, and help middle class families.”

Scalise today also announced his Senior Deputy Whip Team. The new team  includes: Rep. Kristi Noem, (SD-At Large); Rep. Dennis Ross, (FL-15); Rep. Aaron Schock, (IL-18); Rep. Steve Stivers, (OH-15); and Rep. Ann Wagner, (MO-02).

 Follow Ariel on Twitter