Here Are The Four Republicans Who Voted Against Impeaching Alejandro Mayorkas

Photo by JULIA NIKHINSON/AFP via Getty Images

Henry Rodgers Chief National Correspondent
Font Size:

The U.S. House vote to impeach Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas failed narrowly on Tuesday, with four Republicans voting with Democrats.

In a 214-216 vote, the House failed to take up the resolution to impeach Mayorkas. There were four Republican “No” votes: California Rep. Tom McClintock, Colorado Rep. Ken Buck, Wisconsin Rep. Mike Gallagher and Utah Rep. Blake Moore.

Moore voted “No” at the last second so House Republicans could bring up the vote again, since a 215-215 vote wouldn’t have allowed that.

“Secretary Mayorkas will be remembered as the worst Secretary of Homeland Security in history. While inexcusable, this incompetence is not constitutional grounds for an impeachment,” Buck tweeted Monday.

After the vote, Greene released a statement about Moore’s vote:

“Blake Moore changed his vote no when asked by leadership for procedural reasons to make a motion to reconsider so that we can vote on impeachment again next week. We look forward to Leader Steve Scalise returning to vote yes and officially impeaching Secretary Mayorkas,” Greene said on Twitter.


The resolution was originally introduced by Georgia Republican Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene. (RELATED: House Vote To Impeach DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas Fails)

In November, the House voted 209-201 to refer articles of impeachment against Mayorkas to committee, with eight Republicans voting with Democrats to prevent a full House vote on the resolution. (RELATED: EXCLUSIVE: Sen. Roger Marshall Rips Mayorkas, Says He Has Lied ‘Multiple Times Under Oath’ To Congress)

Greene then reintroduced the resolution to impeach Mayorkas later in November. (RELATED: EXCLUSIVE: Jim Jordan Suggests Mayorkas May Have Perjured Himself In New Letter To DHS)

This is a developing story. More information will be added as it becomes available.