Daily Caller wins Edward R. Murrow Award for story on soldiers in Afghanistan

Photo of Alex Pappas
Alex Pappas
Political Reporter
  • See All Articles
  • Send Email
  • Subscribe to RSS
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Bio

      Alex Pappas

      Alex Pappas is a Washington D.C.-based political reporter for The Daily Caller. He has also written for The Washington Examiner and the Mobile Press-Register. Pappas is a graduate of The University of the South in Sewanee, Tenn., where he was editor-in-chief of The Sewanee Purple. While in college, he did internships at NBC's Meet the Press and the White House. He grew up in Mobile, Ala., where he graduated from St. Paul's Episcopal School. He and his wife live on Capitol Hill.

The Daily Caller has been named the winner of an Edward R. Murrow Award for a story chronicling the bravery of American soldiers who rode horses into combat in Afghanistan after Sept. 11, 2001.

The story, “The Horse Soldiers of 9-11,” was written by war reporter Alex Quade about the first American troops to arrive in Afghanistan.

“Alex Quade is a rock star,” said Neil Patel, publisher and CEO of TheDC. “We are so proud of her for telling this important story and receiving this well-deserved recognition from the Radio Television Digital News Association.”

Quade’s story and accompanying video won an 2012 Edward R. Murrow Award for writing in the category of “Online News  Operation — National.” The award was announced Tuesday.

“For an online news startup to receive this prestigious honor for a story written less than two years after its founding is remarkable,” Patel said.

Quade recently returned from nearly 18 months covering U.S. Special Operations Forces on combat missions in Iraq and Afghanistan. She has been embedded with every branch of the U.S. military.

This isn’t the first time Quade has been honored for this story: The American Legion awarded TheDC with its Fourth Estate Award for “The Horse Soldiers of 9-11.” The story is also a Bronze Telly Award winner.

The Murrow Awards, presented by the Radio-Television Digital News Association, honor excellence in electronic journalism.

Follow Alex on Twitter