Matt Lewis

Who’s on the CPAC presidential straw poll ballot this year?

Photo of Matt K. Lewis
Matt K. Lewis
Senior Contributor
  • See All Articles
  • Send Email
  • Subscribe to RSS
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Bio

      Matt K. Lewis

      Matt K. Lewis is a senior contributor to The Daily Caller, and a contributing editor for The Week. He is a respected commentator on politics and cultural issues, and has been cited by major publications such as The Washington Post and The New York Times. Matt is from Myersville, MD and currently resides in Alexandria, VA. Follow Matt K. Lewis on Twitter <a>@mattklewis</a>.

According to the Washington Times, this year’s CPAC Straw Poll ballot will include:

NH Senator Kelly Ayotte

AZ Governor Jan Brewer

KS Governor Sam Brownback

Neurosurgeon Ben Carson

NJ Governor Chris Christie

TX Senator Ted Cruz

Former IN Governor Mitch Daniels

SC Governor Nikki Haley

LA Governor Bobby Jindal

OH Governor John Kasich

NM Governor Susana Martinez

VA Governor Bob McDonnell

Former AK Governor Sarah Palin

KY Senator Rand Paul

IN Governor Mike Pence

TX Governor Rick Perry

OH Senator Rob Portman

FL Senator Marco Rubio

WI Congressman Paul Ryan

Former PA Senator Rick Santorum

SC Senator Tim Scott

SD Senator John Thune

WI Governor Scott Walker

It’s interesting that Chris Christie — who was not invited to speak — is included.┬áRegardless, the smart money is probably on Rand Paul. He has the momentum and (if history is a predictor) the enthusiastic support of many of the students and young folks who attend CPAC.