Florida: No Permit Needed To Carry A Concealed Firearm During A Hurricane Evacuation
Florida residents may carry a concealed firearm without a permit during the evacuation for Hurricane Matthew.
SB290, the bill that allows permitless concealed carry of a firearm, was signed into law by Governor Rick Scott May 21, 2015.
Here is the summary of the bill:
“An act relating to carrying a concealed weapon or a concealed firearm; amending s. 790.01, F.S.; providing an exemption from criminal penalties for carrying a concealed weapon or a concealed firearm when evacuating pursuant to a mandatory evacuation order during a declared state of emergency; defining the term “in the act of evacuating”; providing an effective date.”
Here is the germane section of the bill:
“A person who carries a concealed weapon, or a person who may lawfully possess a firearm and who carries a concealed firearm, on or about his or her person while in the act of evacuating during a mandatory evacuation order issued during a state of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to chapter 252 or declared by a local authority pursuant to chapter 870. As used in this subsection, the term “in the act of evacuating” means the immediate and urgent movement of a person away from the evacuation zone within 48 hours after a mandatory evacuation is ordered. The 48 hours may be extended by an order issued by the Governor.”
The full test of the bill can be found here.