Snapchat Is Introducing A Feature That Lets Users ‘Unsend’ Messages And Pictures

Kyle Perisic | Contributor

If a Snapchat user accidentally sends an embarrassing, revealing photo, or direct messages the wrong person, the platform is introducing a new feature that would allow users to unsend pictures and messages.

The Clear Chats feature allows users to delete messages, pictures and voice chats from users’ Memories to groups and individuals, but it will only work if the other user has not looked at it before it’s deleted, TechCrunch reported, and the user on the other end will be notified that the message was deleted.

The Clear Chats feature is distinct from the Clear Conversation feature, which only allows users to delete messages on their end. It only applies to Memories on the app, not original snaps users send.

Facebook claimed it was in the process of developing a similar feature when a report revealed that its co-founder and CEO, Mark Zuckerberg, has a special unsend feature for just himself and other executives. The company has yet to introduce an unsend feature to users across the platform, nor have there been any updates on its development since the story broke in early April(RELATED: Instagram To Create Long Form Video Feature, Copying Snapchat’s Discover Feature)

Unlike the Clear Chats feature, Zuckerberg’s special unsend feature did not notify users that he deleted a message.

Facebook, which owns Instagram, has been accused by Snapchat for copying its ideas, which include image filters and a stories feature.

Follow Kyle on Twitter @KylePerisic

Send tips to kyle@dailycallernewsfoundation.org

Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact licensing@dailycallernewsfoundation.org.

Tags : facebook instagram snapchat
© Copyright 2010 - 2018 | The Daily Caller