Nanny State Run Amok: Police Will Now Ticket, Charge 5-Year-Olds For Bullying
The city council of Carson City, California, is set to approve a new ordinance that would make bullying a crime punishable by fines and misdemeanor charges–and kids as young as five could be charged, under the law.
The ordinance would prohibit everyone over the age of five from making another person feel “terrorized, frightened, intimidated, threatened, harassed or molested,” according to The New York Daily News.
Violators will be issued $100 fines. Repeat offenders will receive $200 fines. And a third offense–even if committed by a kindergartner–could result in a misdemeanor charge.
“If a child is bullying someone, and a parent has to pay a $100 fine as a result of that, a responsible parent will realize their child needs some help,” said Concilman Mike Gipson, author of the ordinance, in a statement.
Gipson did not immediately respond to a request for comment.
But skeptics wonder how the ordinance could possibly be enforced, given the vague nature of bullying accusations and the robust protections for free speech under the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.
Others mocked the ordinance as a clear example of political correctness run amok in the U.S.
The Daily Caller has covered several recent instances of police taking a firm hand with young people when it comes to bullying–even resorting to handcuffs, mugshots and arrests. (RELATED: Police Now Throw Little Girls In Jail, Get Fingerprints And Mugshots)
Follow Robby on Twitter